RIP Ruben Vela

 

The Tejano/Conjunto world is in mourning for Conjunto Legend Ruben Vela, who passed away earlier this evening.   I saw the sad news posted on the Tejano Journal, and confirmed by several sources there and on radio stations and social networks.  The articles are not online yet, but I found a bio on him which you can read by clicking HERE.

RIP Ruben Vela, you will be missed.

Bookmark and Share
One response to “RIP Ruben Vela

  1. Braulio de la Garza

    I’ve admired Mr. Ruben Vela’s talent since I was a boy starting to play the accordeon. I still play his Polkas and Guapangos at home and with friends. He will forever be remembered by all. I would like to honor him by trying to get funds from fans,radio stations, recording companies, etc. to make this music genious his well deserved life size bronze statue to be placed where he would have liked. I volunteer myselfand a group of sculptor friends to make the clay “plug”( original clay lifesize sculpture) but the bronzing process it will cost thousands of dollars.I know thatif we come together we can come up with the funds to make this happen. Help me make this happen for Ruben. Let me know if anybody is interested in helping out with this project. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

